879x106-spring (1)

  • Rockin’ them bangs with Evawigs.com

    Posted by CFYH | December 9, 2013 | Miscellaneous, Product Reviews

    photo (25)

    A little while ago I debuted my first ever ‘w’ word on the blog lol. Since then I’ve been a lot more open to the idea of wigs as a protective style, especially now it’s cold. Wigs make it super easy to look after your hair too, bangs by day – deep condition by night. I consider them stylish hats lol. Back in October I was sent a unit from Evawigs.com - Versatile Yaki Straight Custom Full Lace Human Hair Wig.   Hair info: Hair Length: 16 Inches Hair Density: Medium 100% Baby Hair: Without Lace Material: Swiss Lace Cap Construction: Glueless Full Lace Cap with Stretch Cap Size: Average (you can request a custom cap) Lace Color: Light Brown

    READ MORE

  • Straight to Curly with the Enrapture Encode Totem Styler

    Posted by CFYH | October 28, 2013 | Product Reviews

    collageweave

    Hey! If you follow CFYH on instagram, you would have seen this already – but I got some extensions/weave done. I was feeling like switching things up and trying out a straight look so I did. My hair was done and extensions provided by mobile hairstylist Mary of PapaChichi Style. Now my hair is in a weave, I finally got the chance to play around with a heat styling tool I was sent.           Enrapture Encode Totem Styler Perfect for creating ringlets, bohemian curls or soft waves by encoding your look and adding style to short, medium or long hair. This next generation curling tool features a unique totem barrel that allows you to set

    READ MORE

  • Paul Mitchell | Curls – Twirl Around, First Impression!

    Posted by CFYH | September 24, 2013 | Product Reviews

    Fullscreen capture 24092013 220350.bmp

    Ladies! My braids are out (finally) and my hair is free again (yay!). Last month I was sent the Paul Mitchell Curls line to try out and I’ve been itching to test them out on my hair. I already have and use the Paul Mitchell Lite Detangler. I love this for detangling my hair especially when I’ve taken out braids because it makes life sooo much easier. Sooo as you can imagine…when I was sent this line I was super excited to try it out. Prepping for bed I like to flat twist my hair, doing this I remembered the products and decided to try the Twirl Around!   How cool is this packaging?       Applying some

    READ MORE

  • Mixed Roots Curl Control Leave-In Lotion: First Impression

    Posted by CFYH | July 1, 2013 | Condition, Dryness, Moisture, Moisturising, Product Reviews

    mr

    Hey ladies, For the past week I’ve been wearing the Tropical Spice 1/2 wig as a protective style and I love it! Click here to see more.   However, it’s still very important to me to look after the hair underneath, keeping it well moisturised. Last week I received the Leave-in conditioner from Mixed Roots, a product range for kinky, curly and wavy hair.             For anyone that has been following the blog for a while, you already know creamy leave-ins do nothing for my hair. I find they usually just sit on top of my hair, so I prefer spray/liquid leave-in conditioners.   My two favourite being:   Jane Carter Solution – Revitalising Leave-in

    READ MORE

  • Darren Scott Salon – Treatment & Straighten

    Posted by CFYH | May 5, 2013 | Salon Reviews

    pk1

    A few weeks ago I was invited to Darren Scott Salon for a treatment, so I booked it to coincide with when I take out my twists. Treatments/deep conditioners are a must for me once I take down braids/twists.     My hair was in need of moisture as it had been in twists for 4 weeks. So James (one of the lovely hairdressers) applied the Philip Kingsley Elasticizer Extreme – “a pre-shampoo treatment that instantly delivers replenishment, hydration and nourishment ”.         Once this was applied I was then under a hooded steamer (not dryer, steamer lol) for about 15mins. After that time had passed, James rinsed off the Elasticizer Exteme and applied their own

    READ MORE

  • Recommended Conditioners & Treatments

    Posted by CFYH | February 26, 2013 | Condition, Deep Conditioning, Dryness, Moisture, News, Product Reviews, Reviews

    Hey ladies!   This post is about my all time favourite type of hair products – Conditioners!   Conditioners are great for moisturising, hydrating and helping to treat dry/damaged hair. They are also key because they help balance your hair’s pH after shampooing (shampoo is alkaline, conditioner is acidic). The acidity in conditioners helps to close your hair cuticles which in turn gives your hair the shiny, smooth look we all love.   Moisture and hydration is a must have with kinky curly hair, so finding a good conditioner is key…here are some of my recommendations:     Normal Conditioners:     My staple, inexpensive and all time favourite conditioners have to be from…TRESemme! They retail anywhere from £1-3 depending on

    READ MORE

  • ‘Tis the season to be curly…

    Posted by CFYH | December 6, 2012 | Hair Tips, News, Reviews

    Hey ladies!   If you’re on the facebook page you may have already gotten the down low on what this post is about. Well…yesterday, I was raiding through my products cupboard looking to try out something new.   A while back I went to the Curls Unleashed launch and received a bag of goodies, one of which was the Curl Boosting Jelly. I also recently received the Design Essentials Curl Enhancing Mousse.         I’m not a big ‘defined curls’ aka ‘wash & go’ fan but I thought I’d give the products a try. In the past I’ve used Eco styler gel, however there were just too many cons for me to keep using this. *It took

    READ MORE

  • Tried, Tested & Love – Darren Scott Salon

    Posted by CFYH | October 8, 2012 | News, Reviews

    Hey ladies,   Last Monday I was invited down to Darren Scott Salon to get my hair styled by the lovely Darren Scott himself.   Darren Scott is a qualified hair stylist and make-up artist who has worked his magic on some of the biggest celebrities and most recently Darren Scott was a P&G Salon stylist for the P&G Salon at the Olympic & Paralympic Village.         For anyone that knows me, you know that I’ve been contemplating getting colour in my hair for the longest. Those that know me really well also know I’m not big on drastic changes (says the girl that cut all her hair off). I very much like to keep things clean, classy

    READ MORE

  • Book Review: ‘How I Grew It Long…Naturally’

    Posted by CFYH | October 1, 2012 | Product Reviews, Reviews

    Hey Ladies!   A few months back I introduced you all to the book ‘How I Grew It Long’ by Diane Hall (Click here for first post)     Having read it I think this book is the perfect guide for someone newly natural or someone that needs the basics of haircare in a book! I love the simplicity of this book because it’s not too long or hard to follow either.   Diane covers information about her hair journey, a small section covering the science of our hair, protective styling, diet, day/night routines and many step-by-step guides on maintaining your hair (e.g. the shampoo process). Each step-by-step is nicely coupled with pictures to help you see what she’s

    READ MORE

  • Deep conditioning just became 10x more fun!

    Posted by CFYH | September 16, 2012 | Condition, Deep Conditioning, Moisture, Product Reviews

    The weekends are always my time to kick back, relax and deep condition! I try my best to deep condition once every week, alternating between a deep conditioner targeted at moisturising my hair and a deep conditioner that will provide protein to my hair.   For moisture I like: *TRESemme Naturals – Nourishing moisture conditioner *As I am’s – Hydration Elation Intensive conditioner *Curls - Coconut sublime conditioner   For protein I like: *Parnevu – Hair Mayonnaise   Now my conditioning routine has been bumped up like 10 notches! I haven’t got a hooded dryer at home nor the space to even accommodate one. So when I was offered to review the Hair Therapy Wrap, I was super excited.      

    READ MORE

Recent Posts

Whiteboxcfyhad