cfyhadwhite

  • Review || Karen’s body beautiful Sweet Ambrosia Leave-In Conditioner

    Posted by CFYH | July 4, 2015 | Guest Posts, Moisturising, Product Reviews

    karens_body_beautiful_ambrosia_conditioner_lavender_1__22368.1405453745.1280.1280

        Karen’s body beautiful is home grown, award-winning, all-natural, hair and skin care brand, launched across the pond in the United States and is available in the UK. The Sweet Ambrosia Leave-In Conditioner is a water based leave in which claims to “Moisturise, detangle and soften thick kinks or curls, relaxed, colour treated or dry hair” making this product one of their best sellers.  I always appreciate simple products which cater to a wide range of hair types. No worries about not being able to use a product because you’re not a fan of the smell, you have 13 different scents to choose from, yes 13 including an unscented version; I purchased the “Creamy Coco Mango” scent. This

    READ MORE

  • Review || Swish by Afrocenchix

    Posted by CFYH | February 21, 2015 | Moisturising, Product Reviews

    Bottle

    Reviewed by Aurélia Pearl The Swish Natural Moisturising Shampoo by Afrocenchix prides itself for “gently” cleansing and moisturising dry hair, restoring “softness to dry, dull hair,” with “beautifully uplifting natural fragrance”. This product is and does just that! I used the shampoo a few times before writing this review because I wanted to be honest with what I say about it, and honestly, this shampoo does the job for me. The first time I used it I needed a wash badly! I hadn’t washed my hair in weeks—nasty, I know. Having short hair, I am extremely lazy with my what I do with it. I hardly keep up with products and my only maintenance is visiting my barber weekly to

    READ MORE

  • Review || Curly Magic.

    Posted by CFYH | February 8, 2015 | Product Reviews

    curlymagic

    Back in December I received a lovely set of products from the brand Uncle Funky’s Daughter. A paraben, sulfate and overall junk-free, Uncle Funky’s Daughter’s product line     This brand was one of the few natural hair care brands I came across when I first went natural so I was super excited to try out these products…especially their best seller Curly Magic®     I’ve heard many great things about this product but as with many other defining products I’ve tried, I heard great things then was disappointed sooooo I didn’t get my hopes up.     OMG though, once a applied a pump to each section my little kinky curls were like *pop* *pop* *pop*. This product seems to

    READ MORE

  • 2014 Favourites!

    Posted by CFYH | December 30, 2014 | Product Reviews

    10507986_780910225309462_500909424_n

    What did 2014 look like for your hair cabinet? I speak to some of my favs about their favs this year. Hopefully without unleashing the junkie in you, you find something new to try out in 2015!   “This year I discovered a few products I’m now crazy. Kinky Curly Knot Today and the Lush R&B Moisturizer definitely rocked my hair world! The Knot Today is a lightweight, non-greasy leave-in that penetrates into my strands so well. In addition the R&B moisturizer is hands down one of the best moisturisers I’ve tried to date. It’s thick and creamy yet it doesn’t just sit on your hair, it melts into those strands like butter! Some people are divided on the

    READ MORE

  • Kinky, straight then back again!

    Posted by CFYH | December 23, 2014 | Heat 101, Product Reviews

    10832110_1514719002141538_1922204820_n

    After my year long heat free challenge had ended mid November, I was itching to try out a completely different hair style. I decided I’d love to have something layered, shoulder length and…straight. In the past year many straightening systems have popped up. While I’m not a fan of some of their names, I do appreciate the fact that they seem to work and I knew I’d need something like this to get and keep my hair straight for a little while. So I tried the Beautiful Textures ‘Texture manageability system’ which claims to take you from curly to straight and back again. These are the two products you need. You wash your hair with their cleansing shampoo, apply

    READ MORE

  • LUSH: Roots Hair Treatment

    Posted by CFYH | August 30, 2014 | Dryness, Miscellaneous, Moisture, Product Reviews

    6027-roots-ingredients-640-x-587_1210_644

    Last weekend I tried out the Roots Hair treatment from LUSH and I love it already    ”The root to great hair starts at the scalp: we’ve used mint in three different ways to stimulate the scalp and hair follicles. We follow this up with conditioning and strengthening extra virgin olive oil, honey, and balancing nettle. The delicate, cheering perfume comes from a blend of neroli, grapefruit, and sweet orange oil. Apply to dry hair, starting at the roots. Massage into the scalp and leave for 20 minutes.”   I applied it on dry hair following advice from Wendy Millington (LUSH Regent Street’s in-house hairdresser). She said that applying treatments onto wet hair isn’t always as effective as applying on

    READ MORE

  • New love for Eco Styler gel

    Posted by CFYH | August 10, 2014 | Product Reviews, Tutorials

    IMG_6361

    Hey ladies, So recently I posted on instagram about my new found love for Eco Styler Gel. I usually just use Eco styler gel to smooth down my edges or to achieve my signature slick bun. Now I’ve discovered I can use Eco styler gel for twists/braids (outs) without the hard, flaky feeling.   “Whoooo child! My twists have been juicy lately a result of using Ecostyler gel & @afrocenchix scalp oil”   What I use: Eco Styler Gel An Oil – I’ve been using Afrocenchix ‘Soothe Scalp Oil’ but you can use some olive oil instead (or any oil of your choice) A spray bottle with some water     1. Section off a small part of your hair. I

    READ MORE

  • Hair Update!

    Posted by CFYH | July 28, 2014 | Oils, Product Reviews, Scalp

    photo 1 (7)

    Quick hair update! I’ll get back on the reviews and features very soon. But…You know that saying you never know what you’ve got until it’s gone? Well yeah I experienced that recently with a hair product, Root 2 Tip’s ‘Super Growth Root-Energizer’.     I was using this product throughout 2012 and the beginning of 2013 until I ran out. I had so many other oils so I just thought I’d make do with them, however it just hasn’t been the same. Now for me this isn’t a miracle growth oil but it really did contribute to the health of my scalp and growing hair (please note  ’contribute to health and growth ‘ lol not ‘make my hair healthy

    READ MORE

  • Salon Review: Sandra Webb Hair & Beauty

    Posted by CFYH | May 5, 2014 | Salon Reviews

    IMG_1651

      Karine takes a trip down to Sandra Webb Hair & Beauty and takes us with her!   Hairstylist: Andree Marie Ettien   HairStyle: Grey hair coverage with black hair die, wash and blowdry, press and trim       1. A barrier cream was applied along my hairline to protect my skin then my hair were died with my usual ‘Superdrug Foam Colour Black 2 ’ which contains pro-vitamin B5, jojoba oil and wheat protein and always works wonders on my hair leaving them smooth and shinny. (I have quite a few grey hair at the very front of my head and temples so I do die my hair once or twice a year…guilty   2. My hair were then pre-conditioned with KeraCare Essential Oils 3. Andree

    READ MORE

  • Rockin’ them bangs with Evawigs.com

    Posted by CFYH | December 9, 2013 | Miscellaneous, Product Reviews

    photo (25)

    A little while ago I debuted my first ever ‘w’ word on the blog lol. Since then I’ve been a lot more open to the idea of wigs as a protective style, especially now it’s cold. Wigs make it super easy to look after your hair too, bangs by day – deep condition by night. I consider them stylish hats lol. Back in October I was sent a unit from Evawigs.com - Versatile Yaki Straight Custom Full Lace Human Hair Wig.   Hair info: Hair Length: 16 Inches Hair Density: Medium 100% Baby Hair: Without Lace Material: Swiss Lace Cap Construction: Glueless Full Lace Cap with Stretch Cap Size: Average (you can request a custom cap) Lace Color: Light Brown

    READ MORE