cfyhadwhite

  • New love for Eco Styler gel

    Posted by CFYH | August 10, 2014 | Product Reviews, Tutorials

    IMG_6361

    Hey ladies, So recently I posted on instagram about my new found love for Eco Styler Gel. I usually just use Eco styler gel to smooth down my edges or to achieve my signature slick bun. Now I’ve discovered I can use Eco styler gel for twists/braids (outs) without the hard, flaky feeling.   “Whoooo child! My twists have been juicy lately a result of using Ecostyler gel & @afrocenchix scalp oil”   What I use: Eco Styler Gel An Oil – I’ve been using Afrocenchix ‘Soothe Scalp Oil’ but you can use some olive oil instead (or any oil of your choice) A spray bottle with some water     1. Section off a small part of your hair. I

    READ MORE

  • Hair Update!

    Posted by CFYH | July 28, 2014 | Oils, Product Reviews, Scalp

    photo 1 (7)

    Quick hair update! I’ll get back on the reviews and features very soon. But…You know that saying you never know what you’ve got until it’s gone? Well yeah I experienced that recently with a hair product, Root 2 Tip’s ‘Super Growth Root-Energizer’.     I was using this product throughout 2012 and the beginning of 2013 until I ran out. I had so many other oils so I just thought I’d make do with them, however it just hasn’t been the same. Now for me this isn’t a miracle growth oil but it really did contribute to the health of my scalp and growing hair (please note  ’contribute to health and growth ‘ lol not ‘make my hair healthy

    READ MORE

  • Salon Review: Sandra Webb Hair & Beauty

    Posted by CFYH | May 5, 2014 | Salon Reviews

    IMG_1651

      Karine takes a trip down to Sandra Webb Hair & Beauty and takes us with her!   Hairstylist: Andree Marie Ettien   HairStyle: Grey hair coverage with black hair die, wash and blowdry, press and trim       1. A barrier cream was applied along my hairline to protect my skin then my hair were died with my usual ‘Superdrug Foam Colour Black 2 ’ which contains pro-vitamin B5, jojoba oil and wheat protein and always works wonders on my hair leaving them smooth and shinny. (I have quite a few grey hair at the very front of my head and temples so I do die my hair once or twice a year…guilty   2. My hair were then pre-conditioned with KeraCare Essential Oils 3. Andree

    READ MORE

  • Rockin’ them bangs with Evawigs.com

    Posted by CFYH | December 9, 2013 | Miscellaneous, Product Reviews

    photo (25)

    A little while ago I debuted my first ever ‘w’ word on the blog lol. Since then I’ve been a lot more open to the idea of wigs as a protective style, especially now it’s cold. Wigs make it super easy to look after your hair too, bangs by day – deep condition by night. I consider them stylish hats lol. Back in October I was sent a unit from Evawigs.com - Versatile Yaki Straight Custom Full Lace Human Hair Wig.   Hair info: Hair Length: 16 Inches Hair Density: Medium 100% Baby Hair: Without Lace Material: Swiss Lace Cap Construction: Glueless Full Lace Cap with Stretch Cap Size: Average (you can request a custom cap) Lace Color: Light Brown

    READ MORE

  • Straight to Curly with the Enrapture Encode Totem Styler

    Posted by CFYH | October 28, 2013 | Product Reviews

    collageweave

    Hey! If you follow CFYH on instagram, you would have seen this already – but I got some extensions/weave done. I was feeling like switching things up and trying out a straight look so I did. My hair was done and extensions provided by mobile hairstylist Mary of PapaChichi Style. Now my hair is in a weave, I finally got the chance to play around with a heat styling tool I was sent.           Enrapture Encode Totem Styler Perfect for creating ringlets, bohemian curls or soft waves by encoding your look and adding style to short, medium or long hair. This next generation curling tool features a unique totem barrel that allows you to set

    READ MORE

  • Paul Mitchell | Curls – Twirl Around, First Impression!

    Posted by CFYH | September 24, 2013 | Product Reviews

    Fullscreen capture 24092013 220350.bmp

    Ladies! My braids are out (finally) and my hair is free again (yay!). Last month I was sent the Paul Mitchell Curls line to try out and I’ve been itching to test them out on my hair. I already have and use the Paul Mitchell Lite Detangler. I love this for detangling my hair especially when I’ve taken out braids because it makes life sooo much easier. Sooo as you can imagine…when I was sent this line I was super excited to try it out. Prepping for bed I like to flat twist my hair, doing this I remembered the products and decided to try the Twirl Around!   How cool is this packaging?       Applying some

    READ MORE

  • Mixed Roots Curl Control Leave-In Lotion: First Impression

    Posted by CFYH | July 1, 2013 | Condition, Dryness, Moisture, Moisturising, Product Reviews

    mr

    Hey ladies, For the past week I’ve been wearing the Tropical Spice 1/2 wig as a protective style and I love it! Click here to see more.   However, it’s still very important to me to look after the hair underneath, keeping it well moisturised. Last week I received the Leave-in conditioner from Mixed Roots, a product range for kinky, curly and wavy hair.             For anyone that has been following the blog for a while, you already know creamy leave-ins do nothing for my hair. I find they usually just sit on top of my hair, so I prefer spray/liquid leave-in conditioners.   My two favourite being:   Jane Carter Solution – Revitalising Leave-in

    READ MORE

  • Darren Scott Salon – Treatment & Straighten

    Posted by CFYH | May 5, 2013 | Salon Reviews

    pk1

    A few weeks ago I was invited to Darren Scott Salon for a treatment, so I booked it to coincide with when I take out my twists. Treatments/deep conditioners are a must for me once I take down braids/twists.     My hair was in need of moisture as it had been in twists for 4 weeks. So James (one of the lovely hairdressers) applied the Philip Kingsley Elasticizer Extreme – “a pre-shampoo treatment that instantly delivers replenishment, hydration and nourishment ”.         Once this was applied I was then under a hooded steamer (not dryer, steamer lol) for about 15mins. After that time had passed, James rinsed off the Elasticizer Exteme and applied their own

    READ MORE

  • Recommended Conditioners & Treatments

    Posted by CFYH | February 26, 2013 | Condition, Deep Conditioning, Dryness, Moisture, News, Product Reviews, Reviews

    Hey ladies!   This post is about my all time favourite type of hair products – Conditioners!   Conditioners are great for moisturising, hydrating and helping to treat dry/damaged hair. They are also key because they help balance your hair’s pH after shampooing (shampoo is alkaline, conditioner is acidic). The acidity in conditioners helps to close your hair cuticles which in turn gives your hair the shiny, smooth look we all love.   Moisture and hydration is a must have with kinky curly hair, so finding a good conditioner is key…here are some of my recommendations:     Normal Conditioners:     My staple, inexpensive and all time favourite conditioners have to be from…TRESemme! They retail anywhere from £1-3 depending on

    READ MORE

  • ‘Tis the season to be curly…

    Posted by CFYH | December 6, 2012 | Hair Tips, News, Reviews

    Hey ladies!   If you’re on the facebook page you may have already gotten the down low on what this post is about. Well…yesterday, I was raiding through my products cupboard looking to try out something new.   A while back I went to the Curls Unleashed launch and received a bag of goodies, one of which was the Curl Boosting Jelly. I also recently received the Design Essentials Curl Enhancing Mousse.         I’m not a big ‘defined curls’ aka ‘wash & go’ fan but I thought I’d give the products a try. In the past I’ve used Eco styler gel, however there were just too many cons for me to keep using this. *It took

    READ MORE